Lawctopus Law School
Lawctopus Law School

Call for Nominations: UNESCO-Hamdan Prize for Teacher Development 2021-22 [Prizes Upto Rs. 22 Cr]: Apply by Oct 31: Expired

Nominations are invited for UNESCO-Hamdan Prize for Teacher Development 2021-22. The last date of application submission is 31 Oct 2021.

Funded by the Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum Foundation for Distinguished Academic Performance, the prize is awarded every two years and recognizes innovative practices that contribute to enhancing the quality of teaching and learning around the world, with priority given to developing countries and to marginalized and disadvantaged communities

About UNESCO-Hamdan Prize for Teacher Development

The UNESCO-Hamdan Prize for Teacher Development was created in 2008 to support the improvement of teaching and learning quality in achieving the Sustainable Development Goal 4 on Quality Education, which is one of UNESCO’s priorities.

Awarded every two years, the Prize is generously supported by the Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum Foundation for Distinguished Academic Performance (Hamdan Foundation).

About Hamdan Foundation

Hamdan Foundation was established in 1998 by His Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Al-Maktoum, Deputy Ruler of Dubai and Minister of Finance of the United Arab Emirates. The Foundation targets educational excellence and the sponsorship of giftedness and innovation, to improve educational performance at all levels and sectors, honouring all groups and relevant authorities in the education sector and institutions, as well as the individuals who provide outstanding achievements and creations.

Who can nominate?

Governments of UNESCO Member States via their National Commissions to UNESCO and Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) in official partnership with UNESCO can make up to 5 nominations. Self-nominations are not accepted.

  • National Commission: the nomination letter is drafted by the President or Secretary General.
  • NGO in official partnership with UNESCO: the nomination letter is drafted by the President or Director-General at headquarters. If the NGO has branches,  the Head of the NGO branch may draft the nomination letter, however a communication confirming that the candidate nomination has been approved by the executive leadership at headquarters should be joined to the nomination letter from the branch.

Who can be nominated?

Institutions or organizations; international or national governmental or non-governmental organizations; educational or research institutions active in the field of teaching and learning.

Nominations must focus on an established project or programme of the candidate, which is ongoing and has been running for at least three years, and meets the selection criteria. Attention should be paid to presenting the project/programme of the candidate in a clear and structured way.

Projects from individuals are not eligible for nominations and will not be considered. Only projects from organizations and institutions may be nominated.


Applications are to be submitted in English or French by 31 October 2021 at midnight (Paris time, GMT+1) via a dedicated online platform. For more information on the nomination and application process, download the application guide.

Important dates

  • Launch of the call for nominations: 29 April 2021
  • Submission of applications online until 31 October 2021, midnight Paris time
  • Meeting of the International Jury (January – February 2022)
  • Award ceremony and announcement of the laureates (October 2022, World Teachers’ Day)

The Prize of US $300,000 will be divided between three winners.


Contact: teacherprizes[at] 
Call: +33 1 45 68 23 22.

Click here for the official notification of UNESCO-Hamdan Prize for Teacher Development 2021-22.

You may also be interested:

Subscribe to our newsletter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *