Lawctopus Law School
Lawctopus Law School

Reham al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship 2021 by United Nations: Apply by June 15: Expired

United Nations invites applications for UN Reham al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship 2021. The last date of application submission is 15 June 2021.

About the Fellowship

The Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship was mandated in December 1980 by UN General Assembly Resolution 35/201. Formerly known as the DPI Training Programme for Broadcasters and Journalists from Developing Countries, the programme was renamed in 2003 in honor of Reham Al-Farra, a 29-year-old Jordanian public information officer who was killed in the 19 August 2003 bombing of the UN headquarters in Baghdad.

About UN

United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 and committed to maintaining international peace and security; developing friendly relations among nations; promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights.

Programme Highlights

The Fellowship is a unique opportunity for young (22 to 35), working journalists from developing countries and countries with economies in transition to cover the United Nations. Hosted every autumn at UN Headquarters, the programme brings a select group of journalists to New York to cover the opening of the General Assembly for their news outlets.

During the 3-week programme, fellows have an opportunity to attend special briefings, interview senior officials and exchange ideas with colleagues from around the world. In previous years, fellows have met with the UN Secretary-General, Deputy Secretary-General, President of the General Assembly and permanent representatives to the United Nations. The programme also arranges visits to various news organizations, such as the New York Times, Democracy Now! and BuzzFeed.

Traditionally, the RAF Fellowship is held every year in New York in September to coincide with the opening sessions of the General Assembly. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, note that the 2021 RAF Program is entirely virtual. However, depending on performance and commitment, Fellows of this cohort may be strongly considered for a future in-person RAF.

  • Open to full-time working journalists between 22 and 35 years of age who are nationals and residents of the eligible countries with developing economies or economies in transition.
  • Fellows must be both citizens of one of the eligible countries and working full-time for a news outlet based there.
  • Applications from freelance journalists will be considered. As with all applicants, freelance journalists must provide strong work samples relevant to the United Nations’ priorities. Where applicable, they are also encouraged to attach documentation of their press accreditation (e.g., membership in a press syndicate, union or similar association).
Important dates

The 2021 RAF Programme is open to applications on 3 May 2021! Due to ongoing travel disruptions, the programme will continue to be entirely virtual. However, depending on performance and participation, 2021 RAF Fellows may be strongly considered for a futire in-person programme. Applications close by the end of 15 June 2021.


Interested and eligible candidates can apply online.

You will need the following documents:

  • Three (3) published work samples related to international affairs. These can be submitted in their original language. Please include a brief summary in English for material that is not submitted in one of the six official UN languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish. 
  • A letter of reference from your current employer or (for freelanceers) an editor you have worked with
  • Your curriculum vitae in English or French
  • Proof of education (your highest degree or diploma)
Fellowship Amount

The fellowship covers roundtrip airfare from your country of residence to New York and provides a daily subsistence allowance (approximately $410/day) that can be used for accommodation and meals.

For official notification, click below.

Reham al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship 2021 by United Nations.

You may also be interested in:

Subscribe to our newsletter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *