Film Making | Journalism

Rory Pecks Award 2020 for Freelance Journalists & Filmmakers Worldwide: Apply by Aug 10

Rory Pecks Award 2020 for Freelance Journalists & Filmmakers Worldwide: Apply by Aug 10


Applications are now invited from ambitious and creative freelance journalists and Filmmakers for the Rory Pecks Award 2020. The Rory Peck Awards aim to give freelance journalists the ​​recognition they deserve, rewarding the most outstanding work​ produced each year and highlighting the significant contribution by freelancers to the international media industry.

For 25 years, the Rory Peck Awards has been celebrating the work of freelance journalists working in news and current affairs worldwide. These are the freelance reporters, filmmakers, photojournalists, and camera operators who play a vital role in international newsgathering – and in keeping independent journalism alive.


The Rory Peck Awards’ four categories recognize the quality and impact of work, but also take into account individual endeavor and journalistic integrity. They are:

  • News Award, sponsored by Google: This Award recognizes the work of freelance journalists in the video coverage of a news event where the focus is on the immediacy of the story.Duration: up to a maximum of 10 minutes.
  • News Features Award: This award recognizes the work of freelance journalists in video news features that take a more in-depth look at a story, beyond the immediacy of the news. Duration: up to a maximum of 30 minutes.
  • Sony Impact Award for Current Affairs: This Award recognizes the work of freelance journalists working in long-form current affairs video/film that examines a single issue, story, or situation and has an impact on the viewer, policy, or public awareness. Duration: up to a maximum of 60 minutes.
  • Martin Adler Prize: The Martin Adler Prize honors a local freelance journalist or field producer working in any medium whose work with international media outlets has made a significant contribution to newsgathering, either through a single story or body of work. The aim of the prize is to highlight the dedication and talent of local freelancers who often work under challenging and difficult circumstances within their own country, and who go largely unrecognized.

The Martin Adler Prize is a unique chance to give global recognition to someone you have commissioned, admired, worked with, or relied upon whose work has made a significant contribution to newsgathering. You may NOT nominate or enter yourself for this category.

Eligibility Criteria
  1. Open to professional freelance journalists working anywhere in the world.
  2. Only work by freelance journalists or filmmakers is eligible for entry.
  3. Entries must have been the first broadcast between June 1, 2019, and July 31, 2020, inclusive.
  4. All entries must be submitted and titled as the first broadcast.
  5. All entries must have been broadcast or published by a recognized television channel, broadcaster, news agency, VOD/streaming platform, or online news platform.
  6. Re-versions of previously submitted entries will not be accepted.
  7. You cannot submit the same entry into more than one category.
  8. They particularly welcome self-funded work and entries from freelancers living and working in regions where it may be difficult to operate.
How to Apply?

Candidates need to submit the following documents while applying:

  • Upload film files: Your entry must be submitted as broadcast and uploaded with your entry form as a high-resolution digital film file. The preferred format is .MOV H264 (1920 x 1080) without timecodes. The file should be clearly titled with the name of the entrant and entry title.
  • Supporting materials: Entries not in English must be accompanied by a detailed and accurate storyline and translation, uploaded to the online entry form.

To apply online, click here. The last date to apply is August 10, 2020.


Email ID:

For official notification, click the link below.

Rory Pecks Award 2020 for Freelance Journalists & Filmmakers Worldwide




You might also be interested in Science Journalism Awards 2020 by American Association for the Advancement of Science [Win Upto Rs. 3.7L]: Apply by Aug 1.

Fetisov Journalism Awards 2020 for Journalists Worldwide [Prizes Upto Rs. 80L]: Apply by Aug 1.



Subscribe to our newsletter

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *