| |

Ph.D Scholarships in Mathematics by National Board for Higher Mathematics [Exam on Jan 19]: Apply by Dec 7

The National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM) invites applications to appear for the joint screening test for

  1.  the grant of NBHM scholarships to students for pursuing research for a Ph.D. degree in mathematics and
  2. admissions to the Ph.D./Integrated Ph.D. programmes of certain institutions in India which include the Harish-Chandra Research Institute (HRI), Prayagraj (Allahabad), the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Pune, the Institute of Mathematical Sciences (IMSc), Chennai, and the National Institute of Science Education and Research (NISER), Bhubaneswar.
Who can apply?
  • Applicants for the NBHM PhD scholarship must be mathematically motivated and hold a masters degree in (pure or applied) mathematics or statistics or must be nal year students of these degree courses.They must have a good academic record (1st class or equivalent grade in all years from Plus Two level to the present. Students having passed a B.Sc.(Honours) course with a second class may also apply, provided they have a masters degree or are in the final year of the same.
  • Students holding a four-year B.S. (or equivalent) degree, or those in the final year of such a programme, may also apply, but they are eligible to receive the NBHM scholarship only if they secure admission to a recognized Ph.D. programme by August 2019.
  • Students who wish to apply for the Ph.D./Integrated Ph.D. programmes of HRI, IISER, Pune, IMSc, or NISER must apply and appear for the written test. For this purpose, apart from the students mentioned earlier, students holding a B.Sc./B. Stat/B.S./B.Tech./B.E. degree, or those in the final year of such degree courses, with a consistently good academic record from Plus Two level as mentioned above may also apply. (For more details, visit www.hri.res.in, www.iiserpune.ac.in, www.imsc.res.in and www.niser.ac.in.) Students for these doctoral programs need not apply separately to these institutions again.

Eligibility to receive the NBHM Ph.D. scholarship is restricted to students who have completed their B.S./M.A./M.Sc. (or equivalent) degree and have secured admission to a recognized Ph.D. programme on or before August 1, 2019.

The NBHM Scholarship 2019

Successful candidates will receive a scholarship amount of Rs. 25,000/- (Rupees Twenty five Thousand Only) per month for the first and second year and Rs. 28,000/- (Rupees Twenty-eight Thousand Only) per month for subsequent years, a contingency grant of Rs. 32,000/- (Rupees Thirty-two Thousand Only) per year and house rent allowance as per central government norms wherever applicable.

The scholarships are normally for a period of four years, sanctioned for one year at a time and renewable at the end of each year, subject to satisfactory progress. The enhanced amount of scholarship may be offered after evaluation by the Board at the end of the second year. If deemed fit, the scholarship may be extended for a fifth year at the discretion of NBHM.

Selection Procedure

Candidates must appear for a written test which will feature questions based on topics normally covered in masters degree programmes in mathematics. The test will be of 150 minutes’ duration and will involve questions with short answers. Question papers of some earlier years will be available on the NBHM website  and on the IMSc website  (under Opportunities>Doctoral Programme>Mathematics).

Based on the performance in the written test, candidates will be short-listed for interview before final selection.

The date of the written test is Saturday, January 19, 2019.

The written test will be conducted at the following centres, divided into five separate zones:

Zone 1: Chandigarh, Delhi, Srinagar
Zone 2: Allahabad, Indore, Jabalpur, Raipur
Zone 3: Goa, Mumbai, Pune, Vallabh Vidyanagar
Zone 4: Bhubaneswar, Guwahati, Kolkata, Ranchi, Shillong
Zone 5: Bangalore, Chennai, Cochin, Hyderabad

How to apply

Applications should be made in the format given at the end of the official notification given below and should include a recent passport size photograph.

Completed applications should be sent by e-mail, or submitted online, or sent by SPEED
POST, as indicated below. Online/e-mail submissions are preferred.

Addresses of zonal coordinators for sending completed applications

Zone 1: 

Applications for Zone 1 will be accepted online at this page.

The online registration will open on 10th Nov 2018 and the eligible candidates will be able to download hall tickets from 5th Jan 2018 onwards. Hard copies of applications will not be accepted in Zone 1.

Contact person: Prof. Gurmeet K. Bakshi e-mail: gkbakshi@pu.ac.in

Zone 2:

Prof. Kalyan Chakraborty, e-mail: kalyan@hri.res.in
Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Chhatnag Road, Jhusi, Prayagraj – 211 019.
Uttar Pradesh

Zone 3:

Prof. Siddhartha Bhattacharya, e-mail: siddhart@math.tifr.res.in
School of Mathematics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Homi Bhabha Road, Colaba, Mumbai – 400 005.

Zone 4:

Dr. Mrinal Nandi e-mail: mrinal.nandi1@gmail.com
Department of Statistics, West Bengal State University, Berunanpukuria, Malikapur,
Barasat, 24 Parganas North, Kolkata – 700 126.

Zone 5:

Prof. S. Kesavan, e-mail: nbhm@imsc.res.in
The Institute of Mathematical Sciences, CIT Campus, Taramani, Chennai – 600 113.


The last date for receipt of completed applications is Friday, December 7, 2018.

The official notification and proforma application is available here.


Subscribe to our newsletter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *