National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM) Doctoral Scholarship Scheme 2021 [Exam on April 11]: Apply by Mar 13

National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM) Doctoral Scholarship Scheme 2021 [Exam on April 11]: Apply by Mar 13

nbhm 1
nbhm 1

The National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM) invites applications to appear for its Doctoral Scholarship Written Test for the year 2021.

The test is the first of two steps in the selection process for the grant of the NBHM Doctoral Scholarship 2021 (hereafter called “the scholarship”). The test scores are also used for screening of candidates for admissions to the Ph.D./ integrated Ph.D. programs of certain institutions including:

  • Harish-Chandra Research Institute (HRI)
  • Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Berhampur (IISER Berhampur)
  • Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Mohali (IISER Mohali)
  • Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune (IISER Pune)
  • Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Thiruvananthapuram (IISER Thiruvananthapuram)
  • National Institute of Science Education and Research (NISER)
  • The Institute of Mathematical Sciences (IMSc)
Whom is the scholarship for?

The scholarship is intended to support the pursuit of research leading to the Ph.D. degree in Mathematics/ Applied Mathematics. To qualify for it, one must satisfy both these conditions:

  1. qualify in the test and the subsequent interview;
  2. enroll by January 2022 (if not already enrolled) in a recognised Ph.D. program in Mathematics/ Applied Mathematics in a university or institution in India.

Whom is the test for?

Anyone who fits at least one of the following three descriptions may apply:

  • enrolled in a full-time Ph.D. program in Mathematics / Applied Mathematics in a recognized university or institution in India;
  • aspiring to enroll in such a program by January 2022;
  • aspiring for selection in the next round of recruitment for the Integrated Ph.D. program in Mathematics of an institution that receives from NBHM the test scores for screening for admission to that program.
Details of the scholarship

The scholarship is initially granted for a term of four years but needs to be renewed every year, the renewal being subject to satisfactory progress as judged by NBHM. It is extendable to the fifth year at NBHM’s discretion. It consists of a monthly stipend and a yearly contingency grant, the rates of which are revised from time to time.

The current rates are as follows: monthly stipend Rs. 31,000/- for the first two years, to be increased, based upon the recommendation of the committee appointed by the scholar’s institution to monitor the scholar’s progress, to Rs. 35,000/- for the subsequent years; yearly contingency grant Rs. 40,000/-. In addition, house rent allowance (HRA) is payable as per central government norms.

Selection procedure for the scholarship

Candidates shall be shortlisted for an interview based on their performance in the test. Final selection for the scholarship shall primarily be on the basis of performance in the test and the subsequent interview, although the selection committee may take into account other aspects of the candidate’s academic track record.

Written Test

The test is scheduled for Sunday, 11 April 2021, from 1400 to 1700 hrs, IST. It will be one of the subject skills that are important for pursuing a doctoral degree in mathematics / applied mathematics.

The test will be conducted at centers in the following cities, divided into five geographical zones:

  • Zone 1: Chandigarh, Delhi (multiple venues), Jodhpur, Patiala, Ropar, Shimla, Srinagar.
  • Zone 2: Bhopal, Indore, Jabalpur, Kanpur, Prayagraj, Raipur.
  • Zone 3: Dharwad, Gandhinagar, Goa, Mumbai, Nagpur, Nanded, Pune, Vallabh Vidyanagar.
  • Zone 4: Agartala, Berhampur, Bhubaneswar (multiple venues), Dimapur, Guwahati, Jamshedpur, Kolkata (multiple venues), Ranchi, Shillong, Siliguri, Tezpur.
  • Zone 5: Bengaluru, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kochi, Kozhikode, Madurai, Mysuru, Pondicherry, Salem, Surathkal, Thiruvananthapuram, Tirupati, Warangal.
How to apply?

Interested candidates can apply online by clicking here.

An application fee (along with applicable collection charges) needs to be paid online at the time of the application. For applications completed on or before 13th March, the application fee is Rs. 400; for applications completed after that date, the fee is Rs. 600. The Centre-wise lists of candidates will be published in three installments.


Email is the preferred mode of communication (in case you absolutely must contact a zonal coordinator).

  1. Zone 1: Professor Gurmeet Kaur Bakshi, email:, Department of Mathematics, Panjab University, Hans Raj Gupta Hall, Chandigarh 160014.
  2. Zone 2: Professor R. Thangadurai, email:, Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Chhatnag Road, Jhusi, Prayagraj 211019.
  3. Zone 3: Professor Vivek Mohan Mallick, email:, Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Homi Bhabha Road, Pashan, Pune 411008.
  4. Zone 4: Professor Pradipta Bandyopadhyay, email: Stat-Math Division, Indian Statistical Institute, 203, B T Road, Kolkata 700108.
  5. Zone 5: Professor K. N. Raghavan, email:, The Institute of Mathematical Sciences, CIT Campus, Taramani, Chennai 600113.

For full notification, click the link below.

National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM) Doctoral Scholarship Scheme 2021 Notification


Subscribe to our newsletter

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *