Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award by IWMF, USA [Cash Prize Upto Rs. 14L]: Apply by Feb 23

By: Jasmeet | 18 Feb 2020 12:31 AM

The International Women’s Media Foundation, USA invites applications from woman journalists for the Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award 2020.

The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was created to honor the life and work of Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer and IWMF Courage in Journalism Award winner Anja Niedringhaus (1965-2014).

Award Details
  1. With this Award, the IWMF celebrates the courageous work of women photojournalists like Anja.
  2. The Award recognizes the importance of visual journalistic work that inspires us to take action and compels us to better understand the world.
  3. Created in 2014 with a $1 million gift from the Howard G. Buffett Foundation, the Award will be given annually to a woman photojournalist whose work reflects courage and dedication, as Anja’s does.
Eligibility Criteria

The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award recognizes women photojournalists with a commitment to shining a light on important stories around the world through brave and compelling work. Candidates for the Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award must:

  • Work full-time as journalists; journalism must be a candidate’s primary vocation.
  • Both freelance journalists and those affiliated with media organizations are eligible.
  • Identify as women.
Nomination Guidelines
  • All nominations must include candidate information, work samples, and a candidate/nomination statement.
  • The required work samples are 12 photographs that best represent the scope and style of the candidate’s work, within the context of challenging reporting environments.
  • Each photograph must be accompanied by a caption describing the date, place, and situation captured.
  • Photos must not be manipulated post-production.
  • Photos must depict accurately the scenes and events captured.
  • Six (6) of the photos must have been taken within the past two years (2018-2020).
  • The other six can be taken at any time during the candidate’s career.
  • Candidate statements must be written in English, French, or Spanish.

Interested candidates can submit their nominations online by clicking here. The last date to apply is February 23, 2020.


Email ID:

For further details, click here.


Get Noticebard’s Posts in Your Email.

Jobs, internships, conferences, scholarships, etc.
Join 38,000 other people!

Related Posts

About the Author


When I die, bury me with all my tatts on. When I die, bury me without the lights on.

Comment via Facebook

Comment via Website

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *